h1

Nina…

August 29, 2008

I decided to add a new category to my blog: Things I Like!

I will start with my all time favorite  female singer, Nina Simone…

There are tons of reasons why she is my favorite… 1) her attitude towards life, 2) the way she carried herself, 3) her beautiful voice, and [my favorite reason] 4) her unexpected music.

I love her because she cannot be labeled as anything…

She was ( and still is) a little bit of everything!

Bio..

Eunice Kathleen Waymon  A.K.A  [the great] Nina Simone was born in North Carolina, USA, February 21, 1933. In the late 50s she recorded her first album.

Although Nina was called the “High Priestess of Soul” by her fans and was regarded by them as an almost religious figure, she was often misunderstood as well. The High Priestess would walk different paths to find the adequate songs to spread her message.

A protest singer; a jazz singer; a pianist; an arranger and a composer, Nina Simone is a great artist who defies easy classification. She is all of these: a jazz-rock-pop-folk-black musician. In fact, we can find her biography in jazz, rock, pop, black and soul literature. Her style and her hits provided many singers and groups with material for hits of their own.

Nina Simone died April 21, 2003 in Carry-le-Rouet, Bouches-du-Rhône, France.

(Info taken from http://boscarol.com/nina/)

Only 2 of my favorites…

One comment

  1. I hope you will guide in my quest to find a black and white photo/poster of Nina. She is my favorite personality!!!! I adore her. I want to teach my special friends about her and her exponentially expressionate music. If you can manage the time, please respond.
    Biggest fan (one of them)
    Bobs



Leave a Reply

